Posted by: fvbcdm | September 7, 2011

Feast of Saint John of Lodi (7 Sept 2011)

“Whatever you do to the least of my brothers, you do to me.” These words of Our Savior, and several other versions of that same concept that Our Lord gives us in the gospels are basic to the Christian ethic and guide us in our treatment of other people.
 
This morning in our community Mass, our religious superior alluded to them and spoke of their importance for us. That reminded me of something that happened to me a few weeks ago. I was standing in our kitchen talking to one of the other men in our house while trying to do something with a spoon, when I dropped it on the floor. This condition that I have has made me very clumsy and uncoordinated, and I drop lots of things. The spoon fell between the two of us, but closer to him. Because I have difficulty in bending over to pick up objects that have fallen on the floor, I was hoping that he would pick it up for me.  He didn’t. He just stood there and watched me retrieve the dropped spoon. I’m sure there was no malice there on his part, no ill will, and no laziness.  If I had asked him to help me, he would probably have done so quite willingly.  But I didn’t ask, and he didn’t offer.  He simply watched me.  So with a good deal of huffing and puffing, I picked up the spoon I had dropped.  Had he been a woman, I suspect that he would have done what needed doing without being asked. Women usually are more quick to be of help, more sympathetic, more understanding.
 
Think about that today. Do you want to do something “helpful” to Our Lord? Do you want to “lay up for yourself treasures in heaven,” as Our Lord says elsewhere in the gospel? Well, do something helpful for someone else. Whether it’s a fairly large favor, or something as trivial as picking up a spoon, WHATEVER you do to others, Jesus counts it as if done to him. Because of my physical condition, I am becoming much more aware of my needs than I used to be. I hope that it will make me more aware of others’ needs, too. Let’s always adopt as our motto the question asked by the salesperson in the store: “May I help you?” Thank you for seeking God’s truth.  God bless you. Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

