Posted by: fvbcdm | May 7, 2012

Feast of Saint Vincent Ferrer (5 May 2012)

Today I was having breakfast with our Saturday morning breakfast group when one of my friends asked me a question about one of the windows in our church.  We talked about that for a while, and then the subject drifted to other topics.  As we were leaving, he thanked me for the information about the window. I had no idea what he was talking about since about a half-hour had elapsed since we talked about the window for the first time.  And in my state of Alzheimer’s or whatever it is, thirty minutes is a LONG time! When this kind of thing happens, my friends look at me oddly, as well they might, because my behavior is not rational or normal.  

I tell you this today because if you are my age, or in the same condition of health as I am in, you may be experiencing the same memory problems as I am.  And it might be of some consolation to you to know that you are not alone in this regard.  It is part of the process of getting old, and there is no point in getting upset about it.  Just laugh it off and admit that you can’t remember anything that has happened less than 10 years ago! The events of long ago, we retain; the more recent things, we can’t retain.  

That’s also true of our hearing.  I am aware that the priests who live with me tend to avoid engaging me in conversation because they know that it is difficult, and they will have to repeat themselves louder than their normal conversational tone.  An old joke circulates in this regard:  Joe says to Bill: I have a new hearing aid that is VERY good and helps me a great deal in my hearing.  And Bill replies: Good!  What kind is it?  To which Joe responds, looking at his watch: It’s a quarter to four! Laugh at yourself.  Don’t cry.  There will be no deafness or memory loss in heaven.  Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you.  Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

