Posted by: fvbcdm | May 14, 2012

Feast of Saint Matthias (14 May 2012)

On the 14th of May, the Church celebrates the feast of the apostle Saint Matthias.  He was one of the disciples of Our Lord who accompanied Jesus all during Our Lord’s public life.  Then, when Judas Iscariot turned traitor and hanged himself, the other eleven saw the importance of the number twelve for the apostles, and asked God to choose someone to take his place.  The choice fell upon Matthias.  In the gospel of today’s Mass in honor of Saint Matthias, we hear Our Lord saying to the apostles and to us: I call you friends since I have made known to you all that I heard from my Father.  Do we realize the tremendous favor that Our Lord shows us by calling us his FRIENDS?  To be a creature of God is one thing; to be a friend is much more.  How can a mere creature be a FRIEND of the Creator, of the most high God?  

This reminds me of a story I heard in the life of two nuns in a monastery in France during the reign of King Louis XV.  One of them was of the royal family, a princess and daughter of the king.  One day she said or did something to which the other nun objected. The first one said to the second, “Sister, don’t forget that my father is the king of France.” And to that, the other replied, “And you, Sister, don’t forget that my father is the King of Heaven!”  It was a nice way of putting the princess in her place without being insulting or contrary.

When Our Lord calls us “friends,” He is conferring upon us a very great honor but also a very great responsibility.  If we are friends of our Savior, we must act that way.  So when we examine our conscience, we must ask ourselves, “Have I acted like a friend of my Divine Lord?  Have my thoughts, words, and deeds been worthy of a friend of Christ? Is my relationship with Jesus evident in all I say and do?  Saint Matthias, you were considered worthy to be numbered among the closest associates of our Lord.  Help me to share that worthiness, at least to some degree.  Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you.  Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

