Posted by: fvbcdm | May 22, 2012

Feast of Saint Rita of Cascia (22 May 2012)

Our Lord says to us in the gospel according to Saint Matthew, “Learn of me, for I am meek and humble of heart.”  It is astounding that our Almighty and Infinite Redeemer could say such a thing.  How can the God of glory be meek and humble?  He is enthroned in glory with the Father and the Holy Spirit, and yet speaks of himself as “meek and humble”!

Let me share with you a very earthy little simile that often occurs to me in this connection.  Do you know what a “grab bar” is?  Up until just a few years ago, I wasn’t familiar with the term.  But as my mother got old and needed assisted living, I learned the meaning of “grab bar,” and saw how useful those things are to people who have difficulty walking or operating wheel chairs.  

Well, now I know very well how useful and important the grab bar is in the lives of us who can no longer walk normally and safely under our own power. When the priory in which I now live was built, the builders realized that some of its rooms would be occupied by old men—perhaps retired men who would need all the help they could get in living their daily lives.  So now, when I use the various appliances in my bathroom, I am very grateful to have grab bars beside the wash-basin, the shower, the commode, etc. And as I hold onto those bars with a lot of confidence and dependence, I am very happy to have them there to help me. The grab bar is not a particularly beautiful instrument; it won’t win any artistic prizes like Louis XV furniture, or Regency, or Chippendale.   But believe me, it is tremendously useful and extremely desirable for those of us who are now at my point in life. 

In the 22nd psalm we find the words, “I am a worm and no man, the scorn of men, despised by the people.”  A man dying on a cross is not a pretty thing, but the sacred body of Our Lord nailed to his cross, unattractive as he was in that condition, accomplished the salvation of the world.  I think of our crucified Lord as a sort of divine grab bar.  Not pretty, but immensely useful to us. Where would we be without the saving death of Christ?  Where would we old-timers be without our grab bars?  We adore you, O Christ, and we praise you, because by your holy cross, you have redeemed the world. Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you.  Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

