Posted by: fvbcdm | July 5, 2012

Feast of Saint Anthony Mary Zaccaria (5 July 2012)

When I sit at my computer preparing these daily messages, I can look through the window to my right, through the trees, and to the Houston light rail trains that pass a block away on their way to their northern terminal just past downtown Houston, or to their southern terminal down near Reliant Stadium, a huge arena where ballgames and other activities are held.

The trains go by unendingly. One or two cars in the trains at the middle of the day, and sometimes as many as four cars hooked together in the rush hour traffic morning and evening, when thousands of people are going to work or returning home. It reminds me of a dear lady who worked for Saint Dominic Parish in New Orleans where I was stationed during the 70s. She was of Irish extraction, and like most Irish, had a wealth of expressions which most of us non-Irish had not previously heard. On busy days, when I had to go back and forth into and out of my office, she would often say, “My! you’re in and out today like a fiddler’s elbow!”

So the trains passing this way, north and south, remind me of Delia and her “fiddler’s elbow” simile. She has long since gone to her reward; I hope to join her there one day. Already, my days of coming and going are over, so that I don’t resemble a fiddler’s elbow any more. It’s more like someone sitting quietly listening to a fiddler play. The beauty of music is that it can be tremendously fulfilling for those who play it well, and greatly enjoyable for those who don’t play, but listen with delight. I remember one Sunday afternoon years ago, I watched and listened as a famous orchestra and pianist performed Rachmaninoff’s second piano concerto on television. It was one of those peak moments which moved me deeply. As I sat there, weeping at the splendor of that music, I wondered if the pianist who played it enjoyed it as much as I who listened to it. The passengers in these passing trains going to and from work each day may sometimes envy those of us who are retired and can sit quietly and watch the passing trains without riding in them. If we are wise, we will make the best of our present situations as life presents them to us, and try to give glory to God whether as a fiddler or a listener. Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you. Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

