Posted by: fvbcdm | September 5, 2012

Comm. of Blessed Teresa of Calcutta (5 September 2012)

Here I am, back on the Catholic Daily Message, but now located in my own home town of New Orleans instead of my previous location in Houston, Texas.  Lots of things have happened in the past several weeks, but I hope to get back into a regular routine.  A number of you have been kind enough to express interest and a desire for the continuation of the daily message. 

 

I am now in Our Lady of Wisdom Healthcare Center, in New Orleans, but in that part of the city across the Mississippi River from the main part in which I was born and grew up. I came here with one of our priests who drove me on August 14, so I was able to begin my stay here on the solemnity of the Assumption of Our Lady.  And then, as so often happens, a hurricane came!  We did not have to evacuate our premises, nor do without power, air conditioning, or lights.  Today I looked out of my window to watch workmen pick up shingles that had been blown off the roof.  Other than that, our home here is in pretty good shape.

During the next two days, we will have the wake service and then the funeral Mass for one of our Dominican priests, Fr. Ronald Henery, who lived at Holy Rosary, Houston, for some months before coming here.  His health failed steadily until his death a week ago. Two other Dominican priests are here with me, and a number of Jesuit priests whom I’ve known over the years. In the days ahead, I will tell you a bit more about my present situation.  Let us pray that the rest of this hurricane season will treat us well, without more bad weather. Thank you for continuing to read the Catholic Daily Message. God bless you all! Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

