Posted by: fvbcdm | January 22, 2013

Saint Vincent Pallotti (22 Jan 2013)

January 22 is a red-letter date in two senses of the word, diametrically opposed. It is the anniversary of our supreme court’s decision which is called Roe vs. Wade which formally gave the blessing of our nation to the murder of the unborn by means of “legalized” abortion. We must keep praying and working for the day when that monstrous decision is reversed and when our nation wakes up to the guilt of the crime which it has proclaimed to be permissible and even worthy of the support of the federal government.

On a far happier note, today is the anniversary of the date in 1996 when I had the great privilege of concelebrating Mass with our Holy Father, Pope John Paul II, and then swapping a few words with him as he came into the library across the hall from his chapel on the top floor of the Vatican Palace to greet those who had attended and concelebrated that Mass. During my five-month sabbatical in Rome that winter, I attended several of his public Masses, including one canonization and one beatification; I stood in Saint Peter’s Square on several Sundays to hear him speak from his window, and I recited the Rosary with him several times on the first Saturday of the month in the Vatican Audience Hall. I felt that I knew him personally and well; it was a great time, and a great blessing, in my life. One morning, as I was going into Saint Peter’s for a function, I caught sight of Cardinal Ratzinger crossing the square on his way from his apartment to his office next door to the basilica. Little did I realize then that I was looking at our next Pope, the one who was so close to Pope John Paul. He is now Benedict XVI—another in the series of excellent Popes with whom God has blessed this period in the history of the Church and the world. Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you. Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

