Posted by: fvbcdm | May 22, 2013

Feast of Saint Rita of Cascia (22 May 2013)

Last Saturday was the anniversary of my mother’s death. And today, we celebrate the commemoration of Saint Rita, a lady who was a wife, mother, and then, upon the deaths of her husband and two sons, a religious sister.

There is a sort of connection here. Saint Rita was a victim of the plans for her made by her parents. She wanted to become a nun from her earliest years, but her parents wanted her to marry, probably for financial reasons. So she married the man they chose for her, and was bitterly unhappy for years. He was a violent, selfish, sinful man and their two sons greatly resembled their father in temperament and personality. Saint Rita spent all of her married life praying for the salvation of her husband and sons.  And all of them died in the grace of God, as far as we can tell.

When I was a high school student, I knew that I wanted to be a priest and a member of a religious order, but I couldn’t decide which order to join. So upon graduation from high school, I went to college while trying to decide. Had I had my way, I would have majored in history or languages, my two great interests next to our Catholic faith. But no; my mother wouldn’t hear of it. In her opinion, neither history nor languages would be of any use to me in my future career. So I must major in business administration. Knowing myself as I do now, I see how unrealistic that was. I can barely add two and two, and have NEVER been able to balance even a check book, let alone anything like the accounting of a business.

Shortly after I began college, I began to have abdominal troubles for which no cause was apparent. Cramps, pains, diarrhea, nausea, and general misery. I will spare you the description of the sorts of examinations I was subjected to; suffice it to say that they were not pleasant. Then, one blessed day, after countless hours of class in economics, accounting, foreign trade practice, etc., I graduated from college, having learned nothing about business administration but having suffering greatly in my intestinal tract. And when the college education ended, so did my abdominal problems! I think they call it “irritable bowel syndrome” nowadays. In God’s good time, I was able to enter our Dominican order where I was able to study philosophy, theology, history, and languages! What a joy, after the horrors of debits and credits, stocks and bonds, investments and annuities!

The point of all this is that when dealing with ourselves or others, we must respect the personality of the individual and the inclinations and interests that God has given him or her. Happiness, contentment, and peace are far more important than money, and are their own reward. The wrong key in the lock will not fit, and will not open the door. Scripture tells us that the love of money is the root of all evil. I can also state from bitter experience that it is the cause of many abdominal pains! Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you. Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Note:  Father Brown composed this message some years ago.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

