Posted by: fvbcdm | September 27, 2013

Feast of Saint Vincent de Paul (27 September 2013)

On September 27, 1660, Saint Vincent de Paul died.  He was one of the most beloved and Christ-like men produced by the Church to imitate Our Divine Lord in his love for all, especially the poor.

Some years ago, I spent several days in the city of Paris and in the motherhouse of the Vincentian fathers on the Left Bank in the neighborhood that is so rich in memories of Saint Vincent and the women saints who have been affiliated with him in his religious life: Saint Louise de Marillac and Saint Catherine Laboure.  I was assigned a room just a few feet from the balcony of the chapel of the motherhouse where the body of Saint Vincent lies above the main altar in a glass casket, so that on my way to and from my room, I could stop in to visit Our Eucharistic Lord in the Blessed Sacrament and the body of Saint Vincent de Paul in its casket.

This morning as we celebrated Mass in honor of Saint Vincent I was struck by the words of the Prayer over the Gifts.  It says: “Lord, you helped Saint Vincent to imitate the love he celebrated in these mysteries . . .”   He was ordained priest in the year 1600 and lived until 1660, thus able to celebrate Mass for about sixty years.  So far, I have been a priest only 47 years, but the ability and opportunity to celebrate Mass nearly every day during those years has been a great joy for me, too, and I hope that it produces in me results similar to those it produced in Vincent de Paul.  In particular, I hope that it makes me kind to all those whom I encounter, since kindness is such a sure proof of Christ living in us.   Thank you for seeking God’s truth.  God bless you.  Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Note:  This is a CDM composed by Father Brown in the past.

Leave a Reply

Categories

