Posted by: fvbcdm | January 20, 2014

Catholic Daily Message for the Feast of Pope Saint Fabian (20 January 2014)

This morning we celebrated the commemoration of Saint Fabian, one of the Popes during the Roman persecution.  He gave his life rather than renounce his faith in Our Lord or give up his position as Bishop of Rome.  And the gospel reading chosen for this celebration is the one in which Our Divine Lord asks Saint Peter after the resurrection, “Simon Peter, do you love me?” Saint Peter answered him, “Yes Lord; you know that I love you.”  Let us remember that this was just a matter of days or weeks after Saint Peter had denied Our Lord three times on the night before Jesus died.  Then, two more times, “Simon Peter, do you love me?”  This was the gracious way by which Our Lord gave Saint Peter the opportunity to make amends for having denied him.  But even so, Saint Peter had the nerve to become upset when Jesus asked him for the third time, “Do you love me?”

This little exchange of conversation between the Lord and Peter, the fisherman and the “fisher of men,” has often served as a warning to me.  In my prayer, I want to say to Our Lord, “I love you.”  But can I?  Should I?  If I were to say that, he might respond, “If you love me, why don’t you follow and obey me more faithfully?”  since he says elsewhere in the gospel, “If you love me, keep my commandments.”  So instead of saying flatly, “I love you,” I say to Our Lord, “I want to love you.”  We remember one time when Jesus asked someone if he believed in him, the man answered, “Lord, I do believe; help my unbelief!”  Likewise, we might say, “I do love you; help my lack of love.” Thank you for seeking God’s truth.  God bless you.  Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Note:  This is a CDM composed by Father Brown in the past.

Leave a Reply

Categories

