Posted by: fvbcdm | March 18, 2014

Feast of Saint Cyril of Jerusalem (18 March 2014)

 My mother’s brother, Roy, was born on March 18, 1891; thus he was three years older than she was. He lived with his wife and three children in New Orleans all his adult life, after having served in the Army in France during World War I.

When my father died in an automobile accident when I was eight years old, “Uncle Roy” as I called him told my mother that from then on, he would pay our milk bills. Every morning, the delivery man from the dairy would bring a quart of milk to our front door, and often a pint of cream and maybe a carton of cream-cheese as well. Cream-cheese is that delicious food that results when you drip clabber and allow the whey to drain away. Then, you add thick cream and sugar to the curds left in the bag which has dripped for several hours, and it makes a wonderful breakfast treat. So for years, Uncle Roy paid for all the milk, cream, and cream-cheese that was delivered to our house. My mother frequently reminded me of Uncle Roy’s generosity and of my obligation to pray for him in repayment for his goodness to us. Today, on his birthday, I am more than usually mindful of him, and I hope that when he appeared before the judgment of God, our Lord looked very kindly upon all that milk, cream, and cream-cheese, and allowed it to counteract whatever sins Uncle Roy had been guilty of.  Jesus says to us in the gospel, “Whatever you have done to the least of my brethren, you have done for Me.”  This is a simple but good example of putting the words of Jesus into practice.

Let us look for ways of being kind and helpful to others. When we appear before the judgment of God, we will be grateful for the kindnesses and services we have rendered to others in the name of the Lord who will be judging us. Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you. Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Leave a Reply

Categories

