Posted by: fvbcdm | August 28, 2014

Feast of Saint Augustine (28 August 2014)

Today, August 28, is the feast of Saint Augustine, and I would like to reflect on a beautiful and very famous passage from the Confessions of Saint Augustine, in which he is reminiscing over his own life and his relationship with God. Let’s listen to this classical passage:

“Late have I loved you, O Beauty ever ancient, ever new; late have I loved you. You were within me, but I was outside, and it was there that I searched for you. In my unloveliness I plunged into the lovely things which you created. You were with me but I was not with you. Created things kept me from you; yet if they had not been in you, they would not have been at all. You called; you shouted, and you broke through my deafness. You flashed, you shone, and you dispelled my blindness. You breathed your fragrance upon me; I drew in breath and now I pant for you. I have tasted you; now I hunger and thirst for more. You touched me, and I burned for your peace.”

A beautiful expression of the love of the human soul for God, of the interior life of a saint. Thank you for seeking God’s truth. God bless you. Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Note:  This Message was composed some years ago.

Leave a Reply

Categories

