Posted by: fvbcdm | March 21, 2016

Monday of Holy Week (21 March 2016)

I wish you a very happy springtime, and ask that you make a conscious recommitment of yourself to the love and service of God during this new season which begins now. The beginning of spring also reminds us that the greatest of all our celebrations — that of the Resurrection of Our Divine Lord on Easter — is near. You see, Easter is computed as being the Sunday after the full moon after the vernal equinox. So it won’t be long before whole Christian world will be again rejoicing with its Alleluias and beautiful hymns and prayers of exultation.

In the gospel, we read from the words of our Savior as recorded by Saint John. There are four statements that I’d like to call to your attention. One: “The Son cannot do anything on his own, but only what he sees the Father doing.” Two: “The Father does not judge anyone, but he has given all judgment to the Son.” Three: “Just as the Father has life in himself, so also he gave to the Son the possession of life in himself.” And four: “I cannot do anything on my own; I judge as I hear, and my judgment is just because I do not seek my own will but the will of the one who sent me.”

When we put those statements together, we get a beautiful glimpse of the humility of the human Jesus in relationship with his divine Father. And we also come to some understanding of the position of the human Jesus, who is also the divine Son of God. Because Jesus is God and the Son of the Father, judgment and kingship are given to him. And because he is human, he can say “I cannot do anything on my own.” This is what he means when he says to us elsewhere in the gospel: “Learn of me, for I am meek and humble of heart.” We adore him as God, and we should imitate him in his humility and service of his heavenly father and ours.  Thank you for seeking God’s truth.  God bless you.  Father Victor Brown, O.P.

Note:  This message was composed some years ago.

Leave a Reply

Categories

